Hazard Is Captain As Belgium Release Euro 2016 Squad

Featured Image

Chelsea forward Eden Hazard is the main man in Belgium’s Euro 2016 squad, with Vincent Kompany missing out due to injury.

Hazard who has had an ugly season with Chelsea, will captain Belgium in the absence of the Manchester City defender.

“Kompany’s absence is a blow for him, a blow for the team. He is our leader,” the Belgium coach commented on the defender’s injury.

“He must now focus on his recovery and his health, and make sure he returns as soon as possible at Manchester City.

“We cannot mourn over his absence. We have to look forward.”

Wilmots has included nine defenders in his squad, in an attempt to cover a host of minor injury issues, although one is set to drop out once the final 23 is decided.

Belgium meet Italy, Sweden and Republic of Ireland in Group E, starting their tournament against the Azzurri on June 13.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Jean-Francois Gillet (Mechelen)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit st Petersburg), Jason Denayer (Manchester City, on loan at Galatasaray), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Bjorn Engels (Club Brugge), Jordan Lukaku (Oostende), Thomas Meunier (Club Brugge), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona)

Midfielders: Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Radja Nainggolan (Roma)

Attackers: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Michy Batshuayi (Marseille), Christian Benteke, Divock Origi (Liverpool), Yannick Ferreira-Carrasco (Atletico Madrid)

Standby: Nacer Chadli (Tottenham), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Laurens De Bock (Club Brugge), Guillaume Gillet (Nantes), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Matz Sels (Gent)

The post Hazard Is Captain As Belgium Release Euro 2016 Squad appeared first on 360Nobs.com.

Source: New feed